top of page

Project 3: Reflection

Project 3 was by far my favorite assignment in this class. I enjoyed learning more about the song from my great-grandparents homeland. When I decided to do my project based on the song "The Flower of Scotland," I learned about the Battle of Bannockburn and its significance to the Scots. Before I did this project, I thought that this song just generally addressed Scottish independence, instead of a momentous point in Scotland's history. After reading about the Battle of Bannockburn, I felt more pride towards my heritage. England's army was at least twice the size of Scotland's army, with trained archers and more advanced weapons for that time period. Scotland used their wits and spirit to seize the Stirling Castle and gloriously defeat "Proud Edward's Army." However, I also found this assignment interesting because of the genre analysis. "The Flower of Scotland" has been remade several times. As a result, it has been made into several different music genres. I listened to about 5 versions of "The Flower of Scotland," and it was one of my favorite portions of project 3. One of my favorite things to do in my free time is listen to music and find out the deeper meaning behind lyrics. I can sit at my computer for hours and read about how others interpreted lyrics in various songs. This project was my favorite, because it allowed me to be creative.


bottom of page